Skip to content

Wine Wine Wine

Collection of wine news and wine-related feeds

Shira Kronzon for The Wall Street Journal

Shira Kronzon for The Wall Street Journal

What’s the best glass? Is question number 11 in Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher’s Wall Street Journal list of the 11 Most-asked wine questions <link>. Here are the remaining 10 questions, with one or two of my favourite answers included. For the rest visit the site and put their RSS feed into your reader (if you subscribe).

10. Where are the best values coming from these days?

9. What wines should I serve at a party (or to any large gathering)?

8. How do I remove labels?

7. Should I decant?

6. Do I have to store my wine in a temperature-controlled cellar?

6a. What is the correct cellar temperature, and do whites and reds need to be different?

5. I want to find a bottle I had at a restaurant (or that I read about); how do I get it?

4. I love X wine; what do you think of it? We’re surprised how often we are asked this. Our answer is: It doesn’t matter. We think you should drink the wines you love and love the wines you drink. Don’t let anyone, including us, tell you what’s good and what isn’t. In fact, though, this does touch on a very good and much more important question, one that you should regularly pose to that helpful wine merchant you need to find: I love X wine; what else do you have in your store that I might like at around the same price? That’s how great wine journeys get started.

3. Why does wine give me headaches; sulfites, right?

3a. But wines in Europe don’t have sulfites, right?

2. I’m going to a wine region; what wineries should I visit? Whether you are going to Napa, Piedmont or Châteauneuf-du-Pape, our advice is the same: Drop into the little places you’ve never heard of. You are more likely to meet the actual owners or winemakers and have a better time. Not only that, but these are the wines you could never buy at home, so here’s your chance.

1. I have this one old bottle; how much is it worth?

1a. When will this wine be at its peak? First, remember that most wines are made to drink when they are released.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

